New Commissioners appointed

We welcome two new Commissioners to the Productivity Commission Board: Andrew Sweet and Gail Pacheco. 

17 July 2019

Appointed by the Minister of Finance Grant Robertson, their three-year terms start from 1 June and 1 July 2019 respectively.

They join our Chair, Murray Sherwin, and Commissioner, Sally Davenport on the Board.

Andrew Sweet

Andrew is currently Director of consulting firm Firecone NZ where he provides economic, public policy, regulatory and commercial advice. He also runs the secretariat of the Small Advanced Economics Initiative which brings together senior officials from different countries to explore policy issues. From 2010-2014, he was Policy Advisor at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet where he provided advice on primarily environmental issues such as the Resource Management Act and climate change. His other key areas of expertise are science and innovation policy, network utilities regulation and transport policy. Andrew has deep knowledge in a variety of policy areas, extensive experience providing recommendations on complex policy issues, as well as experience working with government. 

Gail Pacheco

Gail is an experienced researcher with a focus on labour and health research themes. She is currently a Professor of Economics and the Director of the NZ Work Research Institute at the Auckland University of Technology leading large-scale funded projects, involving both academic and external collaborations. In 2018, Professor Pacheco was awarded the NZIER Economics Award for outstanding contributions to the advancement of economics and its applications to New Zealand. Professor Pacheco has a strong technical background and has extensive experience with complex research projects involving diverse stakeholder groups, including the government.