Search the site by keyword

Who we are

The Commission has four Commissioners: Dr Ganesh Nana (Chair), Dr Bill Rosenberg, Dr Diane Ruwhiu and Vicky Robertson, who was appointed in July 2023. As the Board, they are accountable to Parliament and report to the Minister of Finance, as the responsible Minister. The Chair and Commissioners are responsible for the effective governance of the Commission. This includes the appointment and performance of the leadership team, setting and monitoring the strategic direction, delivery of and compliance with accountability documents, risk management, integrity of processes and the overall health, wellbeing, and sustainability of the organisation. Commissioners also oversee the delivery of our work programme and shaping the scope, content, balance, quality, and presentation of our research and reports.

Our people

Our team comprise 23 permanent staff

with approximately 50-50 gender split

The quality of our people is critical to our success. The nature of our work necessitates that we have access to specialists in a variety of disciplines including economists, statisticians, econometricians, policy analysts, and experts in engagement and communication, as well as a wide variety of specific subject matter expertise.

Our people bring diverse skills, disciplines, and backgrounds to benefit our organisation, on a mixture of permanent and shorter, fixed-term contracts. We supplement our permanent team with consultants to bring specialist knowledge, experience, and fresh perspectives, as required, and through secondments to take advantage of expertise across the public sector.

We are committed to upholding the mana of Te Tiriti o Waitangi, placing our obligations to te Tiriti at the forefront of our work, and in the way we work. We use the Māori engagement principles established specifically for Tiriti-based partnerships to guide us in our consultation and engagement with stakeholders, ensuring our work makes a difference to lift productivity and improve the wellbeing of current and future generations of all New Zealanders.

Our governance and management


  • Dr Ganesh Nana, Chair
  • Dr Bill Rosenberg, Commissioner
  • Dr Diane Ruwhiu, Commissioner
  • Vicky Robertson, Commissioner

Leadership team:

  • Dr Philip Stevens, Director, Economics & Research
  • Shelley Catlin, Director, Operations
  • Catherine Proffitt, Inquiry Director
  • Julian Wood, Inquiry Director