Search the site by keyword

Appendix B: Public consultation

Table of contents


Submissions were made on a consultation paper the New Zealand Productivity Commission published in June 2021 to help shape the terms of reference for the inquiry. Substantive submissions are listed here and given a plain number in order of receipt. Other submissions were made via an online survey and are not published on our website.

Submissions on the inquiry’s interim report are also listed here and numbered with a ‘DR’ prefix. All submissions are available for viewing on our website.

Individual or organisation Submission number
Adelphi Motel 75
Adrian Hobson 11
Advocacy Anglican Care South Canterbury 37 
Age Concern New Zealand 67
Ako Aotearoa 85
Alastair Robertson 3
Alec Kynaston Waugh DR87
Alex Dyer 52
Alex Penk DR143
Anonymous 8
Anonymous 19
Anonymous 71
Anonymous and unpublished 30
Anonymous DR100
Anonymous DR152
Aotearoa New Zealand Association of Social Workers 057, DR141
Aotearoa New Zealand Evaluation Association DR132
Asian Family Services 026, DR119
Association of Salaried Medical Specialists DR153
Atamira / Platform Trust 053, DR122
Ben Gray, Associate Professor DR95
Ben Wybourne 63
Bev James 43
Challenge 2000 73
ChangeMakers Resettlement Forum DR150
Child Poverty Action Group 048, DR103
Christopher Boxall 72
Citizens Advice Bureau DR130
Comfort Christchurch 81
Community Housing Aotearoa 60
Community Networks Aotearoa DR142
ComVoices 49
David King DR155
David Robinson 42
David Sinclair 74
David Stuart and Tom Eats DR137
Deborah Robertson 17
Derek Gill DR148
Digital Equity Coalition Aotearoa DR136
Don McKenzie 39
Douglas G Higgins 82
Enoch Qualls 34
Environment Communications Ltd 35
FinCap 025, DR135
Gary Wills 9
Girol Karacaoglu DR113
Graeme Dingle Foundation 61
Grant Beaven 5
Grant Nelson, Trustee of The Gama Foundation 12
Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand 59
Hamilton City Council 77
Hauraki District Council 22
Helen Gilby DR101
Housing Foundation 27
IHC New Zealand 14
Imagine Better 16
Inspiring Communities DR126
Institute of Community Psychologists Aotearoa DR98
Isabella Cawthorn 65
Jade Speaks Up Trust DR90
James Soligo DR107
Jason Ashton DR96
Jason Duncan DR102
John Cody DR127
Joseph Newdick, Rakau Ora 4
Kore Hiakai Zero Hunger Collective DR118
Leon Iusitini DR93
Leonie Tolua DR146
Lesley Aabryn DR147
Linda Hill, Coalition for Equal Value Equal Pay DR88
Local Government New Zealand DR125
Luis Arevalo DR116
M A Mancer 15
Manawatu District Council DR112
Marci Rowe 55
Maternal Care Action Group NZ 86
McGuinness Institute DR154
Mike Lear 29
Mike Styles 084, DR145
Naomi Pocock 7
New Zealand College of Midwives 63
New Zealand Council of Christian 047, DR120
Social Services
New Zealand Council of Trade Unions DR134
New Zealand Medical Association 28
New Zealand Nurses Organisation DR140
New Zealand Public Service Association DR138
New Zealanders for Health Research DR133
Ngarangi Kanewa Stokes 66
Office of the Children’s Commissioner 80 
Office of the Auditor-General DR114
Ōpōtiki District Council DR123
Parents of Vision Impaired (NZ) Inc DR97
Patty Towl 20
Paula Cross 6
Payal Ramritu 23
Dr Peter Winsley DR131
PGF Group 78
Phillip Coghini 68
Platform Trust 53
Poverty Free Aotearoa DR139
Pringle Group 70
Professor Boyd Swinburn 18
PwC Aotearoa 50
R J Skinner 36
Rangitīkei District Council DR115
Regional Arts Network of Aotearoa 32
Rewiring Aotearoa New Zealand DR128
Royal Australasian College of Physicians 39
Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists 24 
Ruapehu District Council 21
Ruth Herbert 69
Dr Sandy Callister DR89
Shar Gardiner 58
Shenagh Gleisner DR104
Six former members of Welfare Expert Advisory Group 44
Social Service Providers Aotearoa 079, DR129
SociaLink 33
Sue Barker Charities Law DR105
Susan S DR106
Taituarā DR121
Te Hiringa Hauora 31
Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua 56
Te Whatu Ora Hauora a Toi Mental Health & Addiction Services Consumer Consultant Group DR108
The Gama Foundation DR94
The Helen Clark Foundation 1
The Methodist Alliance 051, DR117
Tim Cadogan 41
Tim Hazledine, Emeritus Professor DR144
Tōfā Mamao Collective DR156
Tokona Te Raki and BERL 10
Trina Sellers 2
UK2070 Commission DR91
Valerie Dewe DR110
Waikato Wellbeing Project 064, DR124
Waipa District Council 40
Warwick Alexander DR109
Wellbeing Economy Alliance Aotearoa DR151
Wendy Dowling DR99
Wesley Community Action 45
Xero 38
Youthrive NZ 76
YWCA Auckland 146